Wright president of two dental organizations

October 26, 2009

(DALLAS)– Serving as president of a national dental organization is a major undertaking, but to serve in that capacity for two dental entities simultaneously is truly amazing. That is exactly what Dr. John Wright, Regents Professor and chair of diagnostic sciences at the Texas A&M Health Science Center Baylor College of Dentistry, is doing.

Dr. Wright, who was installed to a two-year term as president of the International Association of Oral Pathologists in June 2008, assumed the presidency of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology (ABOMP) during the group’s meeting Oct. 2 in Tampa, Fla.

Officially organized in 1946, the board determines the standards for the specialty of oral and maxillofacial pathology and constructs and administers the examination for certification. Dr. Wright has served on the board of directors for seven years.

“I have had a number of leadership opportunities in my career but none I value more than my service to the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology,” he said. “Directors of our board are elected with the primary responsibility of developing and maintaining the standards of excellence required for board certification for those practicing oral pathology.”

Dr. Wright looks forward to his term as president of the ABOMP and knows that the decisions set forth by the board will have far-reaching effects.

“One of the most challenging yet rewarding experiences of my professional life is spending four to five days each fall in Tampa, Fla., with the full board constructing, administering and grading the certification exam,” he said. “I have learned as much as I have contributed hanging out with six of the brightest and most experienced oral pathologists in our country debating, sometimes passionately, current concepts of head and neck disease.”

“Becoming the board’s president is a capstone of my career, and I feel deeply honored with the trust my colleagues have placed in me,” Dr. Wright continued.

— LaDawn Brock