College of Nursing begins honor society

March 16, 2009

(COLLEGE STATION, TX) – Less than a year after opening, the Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Nursing hosted an induction ceremony March 9 for a newly formed honor society.

The Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Nursing Honor Society was formed in an effort to become an official Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing chapter next year.

Sigma Theta Tau International provides leadership and scholarship in practice, education and research to enhance the health of all people. It supports the learning and professional development of members who strive to improve nursing care worldwide.

The benefits of Sigma Theta Tau International membership include access to resources and services in continuing education, networking, research grants, publications, career development, educational events, research tools, and involvement and recognition.

To qualify, an honor society must be established at a higher education institution that grants a minimum of a baccalaureate degree in nursing, exist for a year before applying for membership and have at least 50 members. Members must hold a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.) or higher degree or be a student in a B.S.N. program completing at least half of the nursing curriculum and in the top 35 percent of the class.

The HSC-College of Nursing already has identified leaders throughout Bryan-College Station, inviting them to membership in the new honor society. The society currently has 30 members who include nurse clinicians, administrators, educators and other nursing leaders.

As part of the March 9 honor society induction ceremony, officers were elected. They are Dr. Sharon Wilkerson, president; Anne Rathke, vice president; Dr. Regina Bentley, secretary; Sonia Turnbow, treasurer; and Mary Alice Middlebrooks and Kathryn Cochran, counselors.

— Marketing & Communications