COM Awards 2011-2012 Scholarships

September 2, 2011

On September 1, 2011, the Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) College of Medicine awarded more than $23,000 in scholarships to students for the 2011-2012 academic year. Scholarships were funded by philanthropic support from donors, organizations and the College of Medicine.

“These scholarship awards recognize the commitment of our students to academic excellence and community service,” said Sam Shomaker, M.D., J.D., Dean of the TAMHSC College of Medicine.  “Scholarships, by decreasing the cost of attending medical school, help to keep a career in medicine within reach for all Texans who excel academically and help form lifelong connections between students, donors and the College of Medicine.”

Two $1,000 scholarships were awarded by Dr. Nelson Avery to students who spent their third year in Round Rock, excelled academically and participated in community service.

Avery Scholarship
Erick Torres
Ryan Russell

One four-year, $2,000 Ted and Stephanie Routh Presidential Endowed Scholarship was awarded to a student who exhibited academic excellence and a strong history of community service.  

Routh Presidential Endowed Scholarship
Grace Chang

Two $750 scholarships were awarded by the Texas Medical Association (TMA) 50 Year Club to fourth-year students who demonstrated outstanding academic progress.  The scholarships were funded by those who have been TMA members for 50 years or more.

TMA 50 Year Club
Leslie Schornack
Justin Fried

Eighteen one-year, $1,000 scholarships were awarded to second-, third- and fourth-year students who demonstrated academic excellence and excellent service within the community and/or the college.

Class of 2012

Michelle Ganyo (Service)
Valarie Schwind (Service)
Chris Hovland (Service)
Erica Bartlett (Academic)
Jonathan Williams (Academic)
Carson Fairbanks (Academic)

Class of 2013  

Monica Martinez (Service)
Wilson Harrison (Service)
Ben Raber (Service)
Adam Jaster (Academic)
Kyle Mueller (Academic)
Jessica Ward (Academic)

Class of 2014

David Michel (Service)
Manik Aggarwal (Service)
Sanket Borgaonkar (Service)
Victoria Schneider (Academic)
Steven Glenn (Academic)
Christian Ernst (Academic)

— Marketing & Communications