Commencement 2005

May 17, 2005

For the first time ever, The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center will hold all of its components commencement ceremonies on the same day, Saturday, May 21, 2005. Students from Baylor College of Dentistry in Dallas, the College of Medicine in College Station and Temple, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences in Dallas, College Station and Houston, and the School of Rural Public Health in College Station will receive their degrees at various times on that day.
Graduates of Baylor College of Dentistry will receive their degrees at a 10 a.m. ceremony at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas. The keynote speaker at that event will be Dr. William H. Binnie, Regents Professor and chair of the Department of Diagnostic Sciences at Baylor College of Dentistry and vice president for academic affairs at The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center. Eighty-four doctor of dental surgery (D.D.S.) candidates will participate in commencement; 27 dental hygiene graduates will receive degrees; 25 students are slated to receive Specialty Certificates; and nine master of science degrees in various specialties will be awarded.
College of Medicine students’ commencement exercises will take place at 2:30 p.m. at Rudder Auditorium on the Texas A&M University campus in College Station. Commencement speaker will be Dr. Bernard A. Harris, Jr., a former NASA astronaut and president and CEO of Vesalius Ventures. Sixty-six medical students, including two M.D./Ph.D. recipients, will graduate at these exercises along with two doctoral (Ph.D.) students in the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.
Fifty-nine students graduating from the School of Rural Public Health will be honored at the final commencement exercise on Saturday at 6 p.m. at the George Bush Presidential Library’s Leonore and Walter Annenberg Presidential Conference Center, on Texas A&M’s West Campus. Delivering the keynote address will be J. Michael McGinnis, M.D., M.P.P., who is senior scholar at the Institute of Medicine at the National Academies of Science and senior vice president and director of the Health Group at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
Admission to all commencement ceremonies is free and does not require a ticket.

— Marketing & Communications