Newest members inducted into local chapter of Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health

June 10, 2013
Delta Omega Winners

Delta Omega Winners Group Picture

The Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) School of Rural Public Health inducted an honorary member, faculty member, eleven students and 10 alumni into the local Alpha Tau chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health at a luncheon in their honor May 17 at Veritas Wine and Bistro.

The Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University School of Public Health as the honorary society for graduate studies in public health. Honorary members are selected based on exceptional qualifications and having attained meritorious national or international distinction in the field of public health.

Faculty members are nominated for outstanding performance in teaching and research, while students are chosen for scholarly performance and dedication to the advancement of the health of all people. Alumni are nominated for actively engaging in public health work.

Dr. Jane Bolin and Dr. Nathan

Dr. Jane Bolin presenting speaker, Dr. Nathan, with a thank you gift.

The honorary inductee and luncheon guest speaker was Vincent Nathan, Ph.D., M.P.H., assistant director of the Environmental Safety Division, San Antonio Metropolitan Health District. Faculty member Yan Hong, Ph.D., M.S., was inducted along with the following students: Carl Buchanon II, Charles Hall, Cory Handy, Jessica Funke, Nancy Asomaning, James Mobley, M.D., Jo Ann Gutierrez, Fatimata Ba, Stephanie Titus, Omolola Adepoju, and Mark Clardy.  Alumni inductees include Ryan Gunter, Melissa Gomez, Whitney Garney, Ryan Hollingsworth, Cara Pennel, Jay Thomas Greene IV, Adam Pickens, Luis Elizondo, Mayura Shinde and Monica Stelly.

Pictured left to right back row: Ryan Gunter, Omolola Adepoju, Fatimata Ba, Nancy Asomaning, Carl Buchanon, Jessica Funke, Mark Clardy, Charles Hall, Melissa Gomez, James Mobley, Dr. Jane Bolin. Front row: Stephanie Titus, Jo Ann Gutierrez, Cara Pennel, Whitney Garney, Cory Handy, Jay Thomas Greene, Mayura Shinde, Ryan Hollingsworth

— Rae Lynn Mitchell

You may also like
Researchers examine fall prevention programs for rural older adults
Dice, beach balls and chocolate chip cookies
Weslaco High School students improve Gibson Park and win Keep Texas Beautiful Award
Increasing physical activity space for residents of South Texas
School of Public Health receives grant for community health project