skip to Main Content

Dr. Dickey elected to Women’s Hall of Fame

Gov. Rick Perry and First Lady Anita Perry honored the 2010 inductees to the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame – including

Texas Women's Hall of Fame Dr. Dickey
Texas A&M Health Science Center President Dr. Nancy W. Dickey, center, with Anita Perry and Gov. Rick Perry. Photo courtesy Texas Woman's University and Shannon Drawe.

Nancy Dickey, M.D., Texas A&M Health Science Center president and vice chancellor for health affairs for The Texas A&M University System – on Sept. 13 for their accomplishments in the fields of leadership, health, higher education, cultural leadership and public service.

This year’s inductees with Dr. Dickey are Erma Chansler Johnson Hadley, Dr. Teresa Long, Judy Castle Scott and the Hon. Pamela Willeford.

“Texas just wouldn’t be Texas without the contribution of the wonderful women who have lived boldly, shattered stereotypes and made us all better in the process,” Gov. Perry said. “This year’s inductees and the women who will follow in their footsteps provide living proof that greatness resides first in the heart and is realized through hard work and perseverance.”

“Throughout our history, Texas women have broken the mold, stood out from the rest and challenged the status quo,” Texas First Lady Anita Perry said. “The Women’s Hall of Fame is full of shining examples to remind us what anyone can do when barriers are seen as challenges and mediocrity is not an option.”

The Governor’s Commission for Women created the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame in 1984 to honor Texas women who have made significant contributions in areas such as the arts, athletics, business, education, health and leadership. The Texas Women’s Hall of Fame was permanently established at the Texas Woman’s University campus in Denton in 2003.

For more information about the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame, or to view biographies for this year’s inductees, please visit

Media contact: Dee Dee Grays,, 979.436.0611

Marketing & Communications

Back To Top