Dr. Wesson appointed chair of ABIM Foundation Board of Trustees

July 16, 2012

Donald E. Wesson, M.D., FACP, of the Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) College of Medicine has been appointed chair of the Board of Trustees of the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Foundation, effective July 1.

Prior to this appointment, Dr. Wesson had been on the ABIM Foundation Board of Trustees since 2007, recently serving as secretary-treasurer. He also was on its Board of Directors from 2001-2008, serving as chair from 2007-2008. In his new role, Dr. Wesson will continue to advance the foundation’s mission to improve health care through the advancement of medical professionalism.

Dr. Wesson replaces Glenn Hackbarth, J.D., chairman of the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission, who served as chair from 2010-2012 and now is immediate past chair.

Dr. Wesson is vice dean of the TAMHSC-College of Medicine and chief academic officer at Scott & White Healthcare in Temple, Texas. He received his bachelor’s degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, attended Washington University School of Medicine and received his medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine. He is also secretary-treasurer of the American Society of Nephrology, an elected member of the Association of American Physicians, and a past president of the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation.

— Sheila De Guzman