Graduate student named president of American Podiatric Medical Association

April 18, 2012

Dr. Joseph M. Caporusso

Joseph M. Caporusso, D.P.M., was named president of the American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) during the organization’s 92nd session of the House of Delegates.

Dr. Caporusso is currently pursuing a Master of Public Health (M.P.H.) degree at the McAllen Campus of the Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) School of Rural Public Health.

“In the next year, I believe we can achieve even more success by educating and empowering lawmakers and other medical professionals and the general public about today’s podiatrist,” Dr. Caporusso said. “This high honor of serving as APMA president is even greater this year as the association celebrates its 100th anniversary.”

Dr. Caporusso has served on APMA’s Board of Trustees since 2002 and was president of the Texas Podiatric Medical Association in 1997. He also serves as the chairman of the Peripheral Arterial Disease Coalition, is a board member of the Vascular Disease Foundation, is the only U.S. member on the International Federation of Podiatrists Executive Board, and plays an active role on the McAllen School District Board.

Dr. Caporusso earned his Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (D.P.M.) degree from the Pennsylvania College of Podiatric Medicine in 1989 and is scheduled to complete his M.P.H. from the TAMHSC-School of Rural Public Health in May 2014.

— Rae Lynn Mitchell