BCD faculty member appointed to ADA commission

August 18, 2006

(DALLAS) — Dr. Ronald D. Woody, professor and director of implant dentistry at the Texas A&M Health Science Center Baylor College of Dentistry, has been named to the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation for a four-year term and appointed chair of CODA’s prosthodontics review committee.

“It’s a real honor to be selected as a commissioner,” Dr. Woody said. “The 30 commission members are a cross section of people across all areas of dentistry and the general public, and it’s phenomenal the collegiality among the group. I believe this commission will have a significant impact on the development and direction of our future educational programs.”

The mission of CODA is to serve the public by establishing, maintaining and applying standards that ensure the quality and continuous improvement of dental and dental-related education and reflect the evolving practice of dentistry.

Commissioners are responsible for formulating and approving accreditation standards by which programs are evaluated; establishing policies and procedures for conducting the accreditation program; determining and publicizing program accreditation status; and appointing consultants and site visitors to assist in accreditation activities.

Dr. Woody, who was as a consultant to the commission for more than 14 years, has been involved in numerous revisions of the Prosthodontic Standards and chaired various committees. He has served as past president of the American College of Prosthodontists, the American Board of Prosthodontics and the American Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics.

Founded in 1905, Baylor College of Dentistry at Dallas is a component of the Texas A&M Health Science Center. HSC-BCD is a nationally recognized center for oral health sciences education, research, specialized patient care and continuing dental education.

The Texas A&M Health Science Center provides the state with health education, outreach and research. Its six components located in communities throughout Texas are Baylor College of Dentistry, the College of Medicine, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the Institute of Biosciences and Technology, the Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy, and the School of Rural Public Health.

— LaDawn Brock