COM dean joins Liaison Committee on Medical Education

April 24, 2007

(COLLEGE STATION, TX) — Christopher C. Colenda, M.D., M.P.H., Jean and Thomas McMullin Dean at the Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine, recently was named to the Liaison Committee on Medical Education for a three-year term.

Dr. Colenda will serve on the LCME from July 1, 2007, to June 30, 2010, and represent the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

The LCME is the nationally recognized accrediting authority for medical education programs leading to the M.D. degree in U.S. and Canadian medical schools. It is sponsored by the AAMC and the American Medical Association.

Accreditation is a process of quality assurance in postsecondary education that determines whether an institution or program meets established standards for function, structure and performance. The process also fosters institutional and program improvement.

More information on the Liaison Committee on Medical Education is available at

— Marketing & Communications