COP inducts charter members into Rho Chi Society

May 19, 2008

(KINGSVILLE, TX) The Texas A&M Health Science Center Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy marked a milestone two years into its existence with charter members recently installed into the Gamma Omega chapter of the Rho Chi Society – the national academy honor society in pharmacy.

During the Rho Chi installation banquet May 13, overseen by National Rho Chi President Karen Rascati, R.Ph., Ph.D., several second-year pharmacy students received their Rho Chi pins.

The newest members of the society include the following: Eugenio E. Castillo of Corpus Christi; Veronica M. Chadwick of Raleigh, N.C.; Valerie Everett-Oliveira of San Diego, Texas; Davender S. Kanwar of McAllen,; Justin C. Markley of Valley Mills; BaAimee T. Nguyen of Arlington; Sebastian E. Perez and Elizabeth B. Tavizion-Rafaei of El Paso; Rudolfo Rangel of San Benito; Debra A. Thomas of Beeville; and Jonathan M. Wagner of San Angelo.

Charter members also selected two HSC-College of Pharmacy faculty members who were installed during the banquet – Indra K. Reddy, Ph.D., founding dean, and James Robertson Jr., Ph.D., associate dean for student affairs.

To be eligible for membership, candidates had to complete at least half of their Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degree program and place within the top 20 percent of their class.

— Marketing & Communications