COP inducts news members into pharmacy honor society

April 24, 2009

(KINGSVILLE, TX) — The Texas A&M Health Science Center Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy on April 16 doubled the membership of the Gamma Omega Chapter of the Rho Chi Society – the national academic honor society in pharmacy. Sixteen second-year students were inducted into the Rho Chi Society during a ceremony at the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Center.

The members inducted during the banquet are: Amber Chun of Seoul, Korea; Mike De Luna of El Paso, Texas; Erik Felix of Brownsville, Texas; Yleana Garcia of Corpus Christi, Texas; Basirat Gbadamosi of Lagos, Nigeria; Cristina Gonzales of Harlingen, Texas; Nicole Ma of Plano, Texas; Tracy Nguyen of Carrollton, Texas; Nneka Obi; Jacquelyn Rather of Victoria, Texas; Erin Rinkenberger of Mansfield, Texas; Rita Salinas of Austin; Sara Singleterry of Robstown, Texas; Jorge J. Solis II of McAllen, Texas; Tivon Tran of Houston; and Xuan Zhou of Sugarland, Texas.

Mohammad T. Nutan, Ph.D., assistant professor of pharmaceutical sciences, was selected by charter members to be installed during the ceremony.

To be eligible for membership, candidates had to complete at least half of their Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degree program and place within the top 20 percent of their class.

— Marketing & Communications