Largest Medical School Class to Receive Physician’s White Coat at Ceremony

July 22, 2004

July 22, 2004
White Coat Ceremony
Contact: Tanya Nading or Terri Parker, 979-458-0669
Office of Communications
The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center
Web address: “”:
At a special White Coat Ceremony on Monday, July 26, 2004, at 3 p.m. in Rudder Theater on the Texas A&M University campus, 84 entering medical students will take part in a time-honored tradition, receiving a white coat signifying the beginning of their medical training as the Class of 2008 at The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center College of Medicine. This is the largest medical school class in the College’s 27-year history. Out of more than 2,300 applicants, these students represent 40 colleges and universities throughout the state and nation.
The physician’s white coat has been a part of the profession since the 19th century. The concept originated from the operating room’s white coat, and has served as a visual symbol of the profession that stands for the need to balance excellence in science with compassionate caring for the patient.
Introductory remarks will be given by Christopher C. Colenda, M.D., dean of the College of Medicine, and Nancy W. Dickey, M.D., president of the A&M System Health Science Center and vice chancellor for health affairs, will greet the students on behalf of the Health Science Center. Ed Childs, M.D., associate professor of surgery at the College of Medicine’s Temple campus, will deliver the keynote address to the entering students and other guests.

Drs. Kathleen Fallon and Gary McCord will present a white coat to each student. Immediately following the ceremony, there will be a reception in Rudder Exhibit Hall.
The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center provides the state with health education, outreach and research. Its five components located in communities throughout Texas are Baylor College of Dentistry, the College of Medicine, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the Institute of Biosciences and Technology and the School of Rural Public Health.

— Marketing & Communications