Majeti Honored by American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists

Majeti earns fellowship status for groundbreaking research
November 7, 2018

Ravikumar Majeti, PhD, a professor of pharmaceutical sciences at the Texas A&M Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy, was elected into Fellowship status in the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) on November 5. Majeti joins Indra Reddy, PhD, professor and founding dean of the college, and Mansoor Khan, RPH, PhD, professor and vice dean of the College Station campus, head of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and director of the Formulations and Drug Delivery Core Laboratory, to make the third AAPS Fellow in the college.

AAPS members honor the Fellows for “facing challenges head-on with creative solutions in discovery, development or regulation of pharmaceutical and biologics,” according to the organization’s website. Majeti does exactly that with his research. He often applies innovative delivery strategies to existing small or large molecules for improving drugs’ risk versus benefit ratio. He also realizes new indications or applies innovative delivery technologies early on in the drug discovery program to minimize attrition rates.

“Dr. Majeti’s research in the pharmaceutical sciences is vital to the development and availability of new drug products,” Reddy said. “As a Fellow of the AAPS, Dr. Majeti will be recognized as a national leader in his field. His outstanding accomplishments andinnovative contributions have helped to advance the college’s research enterprise. I am very proud of Dr. Majeti and am pleased to see him accept the award in Washington, D.C.”

— Mary Leigh Meyer

You may also like
Disaster Day 2019
Texas A&M simulates disaster to train students in emergency response
Benden elected as senior member of National Academy of Inventors
old medicines
How to safely throw away old medicines
Man in a hospital gown speaking with a physician in a white coat about his pain levels
How to talk to your doctor about pain