May commencements in Kingsville, College Station, Dallas

May 10, 2012

(COLLEGE STATION, TX) — The Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) will host commencement ceremonies for the Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy on Saturday, May 12; College of Nursing on Friday, May 18; School of Rural Public Health, College of Medicine and School of Graduate Studies on Saturday, May 19; and Baylor College of Dentistry on Tuesday, May 22.

The TAMHSC-Rangel College of Pharmacy commencement begins at 2 p.m. at the Steinke Physical Education Center on the campus of Texas A&M University-Kingsville. Speaker is Gay Dodson, R.Ph., executive director of the Texas State Board of Pharmacy. Students will receive their Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degrees.

TAMHSC-College of Nursing graduates will receive Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.) degrees at 10 a.m. on May 18 at Rudder Auditorium on the Texas A&M University campus. The speaker is State Rep. Lois Kolkhorst, R-District 13, chair of the House Public Health Committee.

The following day (May 19) are two more ceremonies at Rudder Auditorium. Okechukwu (Okey) Nwanyanwu, Dr.P.H., country director for U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Nigeria, will deliver the commencement address for the TAMHSC-School of Rural Public Health at 9 a.m. Degrees will be awarded for the Master of Public Health (M.P.H.), Master of Health Administration (M.H.A.), Master of Science in Public Health (M.S.P.H.) or Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.).

The TAMHSC-College of Medicine and TAMHSC-School of Graduate Studies commencement is at 2 p.m. Students will receive their Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) degree in the TAMHSC-College of Medicine, with TAMHSC-School of Graduate Studies students earning a Ph.D. or Master of Science (M.S.) in Biomedical Sciences.

TAMHSC-Baylor College of Dentistry graduates will receive degrees at 10 a.m. on May 22 at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas. The keynote speaker is State Rep. Dan Branch, R-District 108, chair of the House Higher Education Committee. Degrees will be awarded for the Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.), Master of Science (M.S.) in Oral Biology, Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Dental Hygiene and various specialty certificate programs. The Ph.D. and M.S. in Biomedical Sciences will be awarded through the TAMHSC-School of Graduate Studies.

For those unable to attend the TAMHSC-Baylor College of Dentistry ceremony, a live webcast will be provided courtesy of the college’s Department of Media Resources and the Office of Communications, Advancement and Alumni Relations.

More information is online at

— Marketing & Communications