Medical Students Receive Scott & White Medicine Scholarships

June 20, 2003

Four medical students at the College of Medicine of The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center received Scott & White Medicine Scholarships during a special presentation in the College of Medicine lobby on the 6th floor of the Scott & White STC building in Temple, Texas on June 17. John Starr, M.D., professor of medicine, awarded a $2,000 scholarship to each of the following: fourth-year medical students Christopher C. Bathurst and Christopher D. Newton, and third-year medical students Kit Y. Lim and Chris Kneip.
Bathhurst graduated from Texas A&M University with a B.S. in biomedical engineering. He has received numerous awards and serves on the College of Medicine Admissions Committee. Newton is from Fort Worth and currently serves on the Texas Medical Association Board of Trustees.
Kneip is from Temple and received a B.S. in exercise physiology from Texas A&M University. Before he started medical school, he worked in cardiac rehabilitation at Scott & White. Kneip currently serves as vice president of the class of 2005.
Lim received a B.S. in biology from Stanford University in 1996 and a M.A. in microbiology from the University of Texas at Austin in 1999. She has worked as a laboratory technologist for the International Nepal Fellowship in Kathmandu, Nepal, and as an associate scientist with Sulzer Biologics where she worked on developing new intervertebral disc repair therapies. Lim has been published twice in the Journal of Neurovirology.
The Scott & White Foundation has awarded the scholarships in medicine to four students each year for the past four years in recognition of outstanding medical student achievements. The scholarship is for the term of the medical students’ medical education.
The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center provides the state with health education, outreach and research. Its five components, located in communities throughout Texas, are the College of Medicine, Baylor College of Dentistry, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the Institute of Biosciences and Technology and the School of Rural Public Health.

— Marketing & Communications