Nursing students inducted into honor society

April 12, 2013
Sigma Theta Tau inductees

l-r, front: Laura McIlveene, Laura Elizondo, Matney Smitherman, Heather Murray, Kelsey Alford, Catherine D’Abate, Kari Day and Shelley White-Corey
l-r, back: Brian Holland, Alexandria Wood, Katie Eckermann, Deborah Heim, Lauren Nikolich, Erin Sissell, Mikki Murr and Cody Bruce

Twenty-seven students from the Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) College of Nursing and three nurse leaders were inducted into the Phi Iota Chapter of the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing during an induction ceremony in Bryan on April 7.

Sigma Theta Tau was established in 1922 and is one of the largest international nursing organizations with more than 130,000 active members. The organization supports the learning, knowledge and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health care worldwide.

In 2011, the TAMHSC Phi Iota Chapter was named as a new charter chapter in Sigma Theta Tau International.  This chapter is active in bringing together nursing students and nurse leaders in Bryan/College Station and Round Rock.

In order to be nominated for membership, undergraduate nursing candidates must have completed at least one half of the nursing curriculum, maintained at least a 3.0 grade point average and be ranked in the top 35 percent of the graduating class. The students must also demonstrate superior scholastic achievement, academic integrity and professional leadership potential. Nurse leaders must have a minimum of a baccalaureate degree, be legally recognized to practice nursing and demonstrate achievement in nursing.

Students inducted into the Phi Iota Chapter include Kelsey Alford, Jasmine Bohlender, Kirsten Bond, Victoria Branyon, Catherine D’Abate, Kari Day, Katie Eckermann, Laura Elizondo, David Flores, Kaci Hackfeld, Ashley Hagan, Deborah Heim, Jonathan Katz, Joanna Lemm, Laura McIlveene, Meredith Morrow, Mikki Murr, Heather Murray, Lauren Nikolich, Nancy Penn, Julie Roman, Keiko Schroader, Austin Shultea, Erin Sissell, Matney Smitherman, Kathryn Wilson and Alexandria Wood. Nurse leaders inducted include Brian Holland, Shelley White-Corey and Cody Bruce.

TAMHSC Phi Iota officers for 2013-2014 are Angela Mountain, president; Anne Rathke, secretary; Wanda Seaback, treasurer; and Kathryn Cochran and Karen Landry, counselors.

The Phi Iota Chapter is open to professional nurses practicing in Bryan/College Station and Round Rock. Those interested in membership are encouraged to contact Kathryn Cochran, at 979-436-0121 or

— Holly Shive

You may also like
Army Nurse-Marklund standing next to different politicians including Senator Ted Kennedy
From combat to classroom
Rosemary Martinez, a nursing student and National Guard soldier, selflessly serves others in many aspects of her life.
Nursing student, soldier applies passion for serving others
KSTAR Nursing Program
Keeping nurses in the workforce
six common winter health problems
Six common winter health problems