Rangel College of Pharmacy hosts fall 2009 initiation banquet for Gamma Mu Chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma

November 10, 2009

(KINGSVILLE, TX) — The Texas A&M Health Science Center Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy had its fall 2009 initiation banquet for new members of the Gamma Mu Chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma on Thursday, Nov. 5 in the Founders’ Room on the Texas A&M University-Kingsville campus.

Faculty, staff, family and friends joined 11 students officially inducted and recognized as part of the pharmacy leadership society. Keynote speaker Emory Martin, Pharm.D., system director of pharmacy services at Scott & White Memorial Hospital and Clinics, told the audience about “action-oriented” and “servant” leadership.

“Listen, inspire, accept and empathize,” said Dr. Martin, encouraging inductees to consider leadership characteristics. “You must be willing to stretch, to dream and to take action.”

Faculty advisor Lisa Killam-Worrall, Pharm.D., called on each new member to receive the honor cord and pin. The pin given to each inductee shows a mortar and pestle, symbolizing the tools of traditional pharmacy.

“Wear your pin with pride, as it is universally recognized in pharmacy, and you have earned it,” said Barry Bleidt, Ph.D., Pharm.D., professor of pharmaceutical sciences. “Remember that leadership is recognizing change – looking at what might be best for all those around you.”

Pharmacy students Aanchal Thadani and Hui Young Yun, current Phi Lambda Sigma members, told new members their moral character, ethical standards and leadership ability led them to be recognized. The 11 inductees then raised their right hands and in unison recited the oath dedicating their services as leaders of their peers and the HSC-Rangel College of Pharmacy.

New members of Phi Lambda Sigma Gamma Mu Chapter include Sebastian Perez, Rodolfo Rangel, Roel Basaldua Jr., Mike De Luna, Yleana Garcia, Rachel Jolly, Mahesh Kotagi, Chris Reeves, Jessica Sanderlin, Kevin Shimek and Xuan Zhou.

Phi Lambda Sigma faculty members include Dean Dr. Indra K. Reddy, Dr. Barry Bleidt, Dr. Mary Chavez, Dr. Lisa Killam-Worrall, Dr. C. David Matthews, Dr. Heather Miller, Dr. Anna Ratka and Dr. James Robertson.

— Andrew Ramirez