COP inducts charter members into pharmacy leadership society

April 9, 2009

(KINGSVILLE, TX) — The Texas A&M Health Science Center Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy recently marked a milestone by installing the charter members into the Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society.

May Woo, president-elect of national Phi Lamda Sigma, presided over the ceremony. She presented the charter to the Gamma Mu Chapter and gave pins to the 12 members of the college’s inaugural class.

The members inducted during the installation banquet March 26 are Tram Thuy Duong of Tampa, Fla.; Valerie M. Everett-Oliveira of San Diego, Texas; Davendar S. Kanwar of McAllen, Texas; Christopher S. King of Shreveport, La.; Leigh Anne Lunsford of Southaven, Miss.; Justin C. Markley of Valley Mills, Texas; Johanne Pierre-Fils of Immokalee, Fla.; Charles C. Rolph of El Paso, Texas; Aanchal Kumar Thadani of Mercedes, Texas; Jennifer M. Thompson of Ore City, Texas; Hui Young Yun of San Antonio; and Jonathan M. Wagner of San Angelo, Texas.

Founding Dean Indra K. Reddy, Ph.D., James Robertson Jr., Ph.D., associate dean of student affairs, and Mary Chavez, Pharm.D., chair of the department of pharmacy practice, were selected by charter members to be installed during the ceremony. Faculty, staff and the entire student body of the HSC-Rangel College of Pharmacy voted to select the 12 charter members of the Gamma Mu Chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma.

— Marketing & Communications