Erin Schneider, MPH, director of student affairs at the Texas A&M School of Public Health, has been selected as the recipient of the 2018 Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH) Student Services Excellence Award. As the recipient, Schneider will receive complimentary travel expenses and registration for the 2018 ASPPH annual meeting. As part of the meeting, she will be honored during the awards reception on Thursday, March 8, in Arlington, Virginia, receiving a $1,000 cash award and plaque.

“During Hurricane Harvey, Erin made sure that our students from the Houston area were safe and well taken care of,” said Dean Jay Maddock, PhD, of the School of Public Health. “Around this same time, tragedy struck when one of our students drowned, was in a coma and later died. Erin spent countless hours in the hospital with her, keeping watch and keeping her family in India informed of her status. The Indian Consulate in Houston was stunned by the amount of time she spent with this student.”

Schneider has worked since October 2011 in the Office of Student Affairs at the School of Public Health. She earned a bachelor’s degree in biomedical sciences in 2004 and a master of public health degree in social and behavioral health in 2007, both from Texas A&M University.

— Rae Lynn Mitchell

You may also like
Benden elected as senior member of National Academy of Inventors
Texas A&M names Regents Professors
Brooke Browder '18 stands at the Texas A&M College of Nursing.
Inspired to become an Aggie nurse
Majeti Honored by American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists