Skip to content

School of Nursing professor selected as American Academy of Nursing fellow

Elizabeth Wells-Beede recognized for nursing leadership and impact
Elizabeth Wells-Beede headshot

Elizabeth Wells-Beede, PhD, RN, C-EFM, CHSE, a clinical assistant professor in the Texas A&M University School of Nursing, is among the latest class of Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing. Fellows are selected based on their contributions to nursing and public health.

The Academy is an honorific society that recognizes nursing’s most accomplished leaders in policy, research, practice, administration and academia. Fellows, who hail from nearly 40 countries, hold a wide variety of influential roles in health care and contribute their collective expertise to the Academy, engaging with health leaders nationally and globally to improve health and achieve health equity by impacting policy through nursing leadership, innovation and science.

The Academy’s Fellow Selection Committee reviewed a record number of applications, representing a 30 percent increase from the previous year, to select the 2022 fellows. Wells-Beede was one of 250 individuals selected. The 2022 Fellows represent 35 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and 17 countries.

Wells-Beede joined the School of Nursing in 2015 and teaches primarily in its second degree BSN program in Round Rock. She has published several papers and delivered presentations on nursing education and simulation. Wells-Beede received her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the University of New Mexico, Master of Science in nursing education from the University of Phoenix and doctorate in nursing education from Capella University. She also holds faculty fellowship with the Center for Health Systems & Design and Center for Teaching Excellence.

The 2022 class of inductees will be recognized at an Oct. 29 ceremony held in conjunction with the Academy’s annual Health Policy Conference in Washington, D.C. The 2022 class will bring the Academy’s fellow membership to more than 3,000.

Wells-Beede joins five other fellows in the School of Nursing; they include Nora Montalvo-Liendo, PhD, RN, FAAN; Stacey Mitchell, DNP, MBA, MEd, RN, SANE-A, SANE-P, DF-AFN, FAAN; Nancy Downing, PhD, RN, SANE-A, SANE-P, FAAN; Matthew Sorenson, PhD, APRN, ANP-C, FAAN; and Nancy Fahrenwald, PhD, RN, PHNA-BC, FAAN.

Media contact:

Share This

Related Posts

Back To Top