Poster contest winners announced

April 8, 2010

(COLLEGE STATION, TX) — In honor of National Public Health Week (April 5-11), Texas A&M Health Science Center School of Rural Public Health students participated in the fifth annual research poster symposium and student poster contest.

Posters were judged Monday, April 5 at the HSC-School of Rural Public Health complex. First place went to Amy Hansen for “Dietary Intake of Choline and Neural Tube Defects in Mexican Americans” (co-authors Jean Brender, Hongwei Zhao, Anne Sweeney, Lucina Suarez, Mark Canfield, Marilyn Felkner). Jeff Bowman placed second for “The Detection of Sublethal Concentrations of Cyanide in Drinking Water: Using Reliability of the Eclox® Enhanced Chemiluminescense Assay” (co-authors M.J. Adams, L.K. McLeroy, V.R. Nathan, C.C. Mathewson, T.J. McDonald). Third place was Santosh Nazare for “Diastolic Prehypertension: A Predictor of Cardiovascular Disease” (co-author Marc Adams). Hansen and Nazare are in the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, and Bowman is in the Department of Environmental and Occupational Health.

The winners have been invited by the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health to submit abstracts for the 13th annual Student Poster Session through the Academic Public Health Caucus at the next American Public Health Association meeting, Nov 6-10 in Denver.

— Marketing & Communications