Faculty recognized by AAHR

March 17, 2010

Dr. Yan Hong

Dr. Yan Hong

(COLLEGE STATION, TX) — Yan Hong, Ph.D., assistant professor of social and behavioral health at the Texas A&M Health Science Center School of Rural Public Health, was selected as the 2010 Judy Black Early Research Award winner by The American Academy of Health Behavior (AAHB) during its annual meeting in Clearwater, Fla.

Dr. Hong was chosen for her paper, “Care Arrangements of AIDS Orphans and its Relationship with Children’s Psychosocial Well Being: Evidence from Rural China.” Co-authors include Li Xiomind, Fang Xiaoyi, Zhao Guoxiang, Zhao Junfeng, Zhao Qun, Lin Xiuyun, Zhang Liying and Bonita Stanton.

The Judy K. Black Early Career Research Award commemorates the life of the wife of one of the AAHB’s founders and past presidents, Dr. David R. “Randy” Black. It recognizes early-career health behavior research that is innovative, rigorous and makes an important contribution to science or practice.

The research poster by Matthew Smith, Ph.D., and Marcia Ory, Ph.D., on “Implementation and Delivery of an Evidence-based Fall Prevention Program for Older Adults in Texas” was selected as a 2010 Research Poster of Distinction by the AAHB. Co-authors were Yichen Cheng and Angela Hochhalter.

— Rae Lynn Mitchell