SRPH inducts members into honor society

May 22, 2009

(COLLEGE STATION, TX) – The Texas A&M Health Science Center School of Rural Public Health inducted one faculty member, eight students and seven alumni into the local Alpha Tau chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health on Friday, May 15 at a luncheon in their honor at La Riviera restaurant in Bryan.
The Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University School of Public Health as the honorary society for graduate studies in public health. Honorary members are those possessing exceptional qualifications and having attained meritorious national or international distinction in the field of public health. Faculty members are nominated for outstanding performance in teaching and research, while students are chosen for scholarly performance. Alumni are nominated for actively engaging in public health work.

— Rae Lynn Mitchell