SRPH inducts members into honor society

May 21, 2010

(COLLEGE STATION, TX) – The Texas A&M Health Science Center (HSC) School of Rural Public Health inducted an honorary member, faculty member, 12 students and 10 alumni into the local Alpha Tau chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health on May 14 at a luncheon in their honor at the school.

From left are Dr. René; Jean Brender, associate dean of research at the HSC-School of Rural Public Health; and Dr. Suarez.

The Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University School of Public Health as the honorary society for graduate studies in public health. Honorary members are those possessing exceptional qualifications and having attained meritorious national or international distinction in the field of public health. Faculty members are nominated for outstanding performance in teaching and research, while students are chosen for scholarly performance. Alumni are nominated for actively engaging in public health work.

“Membership in Delta Omega is intended not only to recognize merit but also to encourage further excellence in and devotion to public health work,” said Antonio René, Ph.D., M.P.H., associate dean for academic affairs in the HSC-School of Rural Public Health and Alpha Tau chapter chair. “Delta Omega members reflect dedication to quality in the field of public health and to protection and advancement of the health of all people.”

The honorary inductee and luncheon guest speaker was Lucina Suarez, Ph.D., M.P.H., director of the environmental epidemiology and disease registries section of the Texas Department of State Health Services. Dr. Suarez also serves as an adjunct professor at the school.

Faculty member Thomas McDonald, Ph.D., was inducted with the following students: SangNam Ahn, Patricia Billingsley, Jeffrey Bowman, Jeffrey Buck, Vanessa Cantu, Emma Dishner, Amy Hansen, Ololade (Lola) James, Chelsea Mounce, Michelle Nip, Joshua Vest and Chen Zhang. Inducted alumni were Sarah Carson, Suman Challa, Olga Gabriel, Steve Griesenbeck, Jay Jezierski, Wendy Moreno, Alicia Novoa, Rasul Ramji, Bryan Sisk and Holly Ulbrich.

— Rae Lynn Mitchell