SRPH students place in competition

January 13, 2011

“SRPH Ergonomists” recently represented the Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) School of Rural Public Health in the fourth annual Ergonomics Design competition for Student Teams sponsored by eTools, a product of Auburn Engineers, Inc.

Receiving an honorable mention in the contest, TAMHSC-School of Rural Public Health team members were James Stafford (team leader), Megan Morales, Jase Perry and Swati Kale, with faculty advisor Mark Benden, Ph.D., assistant professor in environmental and occupational health.

Teams were trained in eTools, an ergonomics job analysis software developed by Auburn Engineers, Inc. Students then used eTools, as well as knowledge gained through their academic training and applied experience, to evaluate and create a solution to the ergonomic dilemmas posed in the competition.

— Rae Lynn Mitchell