Staff recognized for meritorious service

Health Science Center staff receive 2018 President’s Meritorious Service Awards for their commitment to Texas A&M University
April 23, 2018

One individual staff member and a team from the Texas A&M University Health Science Center were selected to receive 2018 President’s Meritorious Service Awards. Loria Lynce from the Office of Business Affairs at the College of Medicine received the individual award and Healthy South Texas is the team recipient.

“I could not be prouder of our staff members who were chosen for their commendable service to Texas A&M. They have each demonstrated genuine commitment to the university’s mission as they embody the Aggie core values of excellence, integrity, leadership, loyalty, respect and selfless service,” said Carrie L. Byington, MD, dean of the College of Medicine, senior vice president of the Health Science Center and vice chancellor for health services at The Texas A&M University System.

These prestigious awards recognize 25 outstanding individuals, two outstanding teams and two supervisors for their meritorious service to the university.

Lynce serves as the assistant director of business affairs for the College of Medicine. In her nomination letter, Paul Hicks, MD, PhD, associate dean of the College of Medicine Temple campus writes, “Loria does not limit her energies to assigned duties, but readily accepts the mandate to do whatever is required to ensure that faculty and staff needs are addressed. Her door is always open for those faculty, students, staff and general public needing her assistance.”

Healthy South Texas is a partnership between the Health Science Center and AgriLife Extension Service that addresses common chronic diseases in the region, including diabetes, asthma and infectious diseases. Through prevention and control programs, Healthy South Texas empowers individuals to take their health into their own hands by leading healthier lifestyles.

“The Healthy South Texas team’s dedication to improving the health and well-being of fellow Texans is evident in the positive change that is occurring in the communities they serve,” Byington said. “In addition to addressing life threatening conditions like diabetes, asthma and infectious diseases, this team has repeatedly risen to the occasion when confronted with unexpected challenges, such as the arrival of the Zika virus and devastation caused by Hurricane Harvey.”

The individuals that were selected to represent Healthy South Texas are Tiffany Bond, Patricia Mayland, Maria Garcia, Jill Crouch, Delia Martinez, Sandra Garcia, Cheryl Bullen, Liza Cardenas, Maira Caudillo-Balandran, Diane Cavazos, Rudy Flores, Veronica Ford, Evelia Castillo, Rose Lucio and Debra Kellstedt.

Awards were presented at a special ceremony on Monday, April 23, 2018, which kicked off Texas A&M Staff Appreciation Week.

— Lindsey Hendrix

You may also like
X-Grant Program
Opioid project moves to final round of the X-Grants
Healthy South Texas at Kleberg County Courthouse
Health partnership in Kleberg County pays dividends in money, lives
Roderic Pettigrew, MD, PhD
Pettigrew wins SEC Faculty Achievement Award
pediatric diabetes and obesity
Combating pediatric diabetes and obesity in South Texas