Students win National Competition

January 10, 2012

Anthony Onokwu, Katherine Connell, Dr. Mark Benden, team leader Megan Wernicke, Jeff Bauml

Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) School of Rural Public Health students recently won the 5th Annual Ergonomics Design Competition sponsored by eTools, a product of Auburn Engineers, Inc.  The team consisting of team leader Megan Wernicke, Jeff Bauml, Anthony Onokwu, and Katherine Connell beat 29 other teams from throughout the nation.

Receiving an honorable mention in the contest was a second student team from TAMHSC-School of Rural Public Health consisting of Neha Patel, Janice Jackson, Val Cadena and Sara Rod. Mark Benden, Ph.D., C.P.E., assistant professor at the school served as faculty advisor for both teams.

Teams were trained in eTools, an ergonomics job analysis software developed by Auburn Engineers, Inc. Students then used eTools, as well as knowledge gained through their academic training and applied experience, to evaluate and create a solution to the ergonomic dilemmas posed in the semester long competition.  The winning team received $6,000.

— Rae Lynn Mitchell