TAMHSC hosts May commencements

May 10, 2011

(COLLEGE STATION, TX) — The Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) will host commencement ceremonies for the Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy on Saturday, May 14; the Baylor College of Dentistry and College of Nursing on Friday, May 20; and the School of Rural Public Health, College of Medicine, and School of Graduate Studies on Saturday, May 21.

The TAMHSC-Rangel College of Pharmacy commencement is at 2 p.m. at the Edward JonesCommencement generic Auditorium on the campus of Texas A&M University-Kingsville. Speaker is Carlos E. Cortés, Ph.D., professor emeritus of history at the University of California, Riverside. Students in the college’s second graduating class will receive their Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degrees.

TAMHSC-Baylor College of Dentistry graduates will receive degrees at 10 a.m. on May 20 at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas. The keynote speaker is Frank L. Higginbottom, D.D.S., Class of ’71 and clinical associate professor of restorative sciences, graduate prosthodontics, and oral and maxillofacial surgery at the college. Degrees will be awarded for the Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.), Master of Science (M.S.) in Oral Biology, Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Dental Hygiene and various specialty certificate programs. The degree of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Biomedical Sciences will be awarded through the TAMHSC-School of Graduate Studies.

Also that day, the TAMHSC-College of Nursing commencement is at 3 p.m. at the Leonore and Walter Annenberg Presidential Conference Center in the George Bush Library Complex at Texas A&M University in College Station. The speaker is Joyce Batcheller, D.N.P., RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, senior vice president and chief nursing officer of the Seton Family of Hospitals in Austin. Students will receive their Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.) degree.

Vice Admiral Regina M. Benjamin, M.D., M.B.A., Surgeon General of the U.S. Public Health Service, will deliver the commencement address for the TAMHSC-School of Rural Public Health in exercises at 9 a.m. on May 21 at Rudder Auditorium on the Texas A&M campus. Degrees will be awarded for the Master of Public Health (M.P.H.), Master of Health Administration (M.H.A.) and Master of Science in Public Health (M.S.P.H.). Students come from campuses located in College Station, Temple and McAllen.

The TAMHSC-College of Medicine and TAMHSC-School of Graduate Studies commencement is also May 21 at 2 p.m. at Rudder Auditorium. The speaker is Susan Rudd Bailey, M.D., Class of ’81 and Texas Medical Association immediate past president. Students will receive their Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) degree in the TAMHSC-College of Medicine, with TAMHSC-School of Graduate Studies students earning a Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences.

— Marketing & Communications