Texas A&M University Health Science Center campus

Texas A&M University Health Science Center faculty receive Regents Professor Awards

William H. Griffith and Daniel Jones recognized by the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents
November 10, 2017

Two faculty members from the Texas A&M University Health Science Center received 2017 Regents Professor Awards, William H. Griffith, PhD, professor and chair of Texas A&M University College of Medicine’s Department of Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics, and Daniel Jones, DDS, PhD, professor and chair at Texas A&M College of Dentistry’s Department of Public Health Sciences.

Established in 1996, this award from the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents recognizes faculty members who have provided stellar contributions to the university or agency and to the people of Texas. Each recipient has this title added to his/her current designation or rank.

Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp remarked, “These exceptional individuals represent the best of our great system and higher education in Texas. They are true assets.”

Furthermore, he noted that the new Regents Professors have proven their commitment to the System’s success.

Griffith received his PhD from the University of Texas Medical Branch’s Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology in 1980. He went on to serve as a research associate at the University of London’s School of Pharmacy and afterwards as a postdoctoral fellow at Baylor College of Medicine, before joining the Texas A&M College of Medicine in 1984. He also serves as a faculty member of Texas A&M University’s Institute for Neuroscience and participated as a training faculty member in the Texas Consortium in Behavioral Neuroscience.

Jones received his PhD from Baylor University in 1978. He went on to serve as a postdoctoral student at what was then Baylor College of Dentistry (now Texas A&M College of Dentistry), before joining the basic science faculty in 1981. He received a DDS degree from the college in 1989 and serves as professor and department chair since 2000, in addition to serving as director of curriculum at the College of Dentistry.


— Tamim Choudhury

You may also like
Drug shows promise for treating cognitive problems and inflammation in Gulf War illness
cars driving down a highway for holiday travel
5 tips for healthy holiday travel
Childhood development_Child development_A young girl is sitting in grass holding a stuffed animal
7 ways to raise a well-rounded child
liedtke-family-Family portrait
Sweetwater family physician finds joy in connecting with patients