Jones, TAMP Honored with Presidential Awards for Excellence

January 25, 2012

The Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) hosted its biennial academic convocation Friday (Jan. 20) to celebrate its achievements and future endeavors.

Convocation at Rudder Auditorium on the Texas A&M University campus honored the renewed vision and reaffirmed commitment to providing quality programs and services throughout the state. It was satellite broadcast to campuses in Dallas, Temple, Kingsville, Round Rock, McAllen, Houston and Corpus Christi.

During the convocation, Nancy W. Dickey, M.D., president of the Texas A&M Health Science Center and vice chancellor for health affairs for The Texas A&M University System awarded Presidential Awards for Excellence to individuals or groups who personified servant leadership in the areas of community outreach, health care services and delivery, research, institutional advancement, education and mentorship, and administrative support.

Also acknowledged were multiple faculty and research awards.

Texas A&M Health Science Center Presidential Awards for Excellence

The following individuals and groups from the College of Medicine were recognized with Presidential Awards for Excellence:

  • Dr. Sam Shomaker, Dr. Darlene McLaughlin, Dr. Chris Cargile, Dr. Dickey

    Health Care Services and Delivery – Psychiatry and Behavioral Health, Texas A&M Physicians. These skilled and compassionate mental health providers are the principal faculty supporting medical school teaching in psychiatry in Bryan-College Station and the foundation of the community’s mental health infrastructure. The award acknowledges exceptional commitment and innovation to the provision of health care over time.

  • Dr. Lee Ann Ray, Chief of Staff; Norma Jones; and Dr. Dickey

    Administrative Support – Norma Jones, College of Medicine. With the college for more than 30 years, Jones is extraordinarily knowledgeable and a critical resource for faculty and students. The award acknowledges individuals who have made distinguished contributions to the TAMHSC through their dedication, initiative, outstanding achievements, enthusiasm and attitude in their work.

College of Medicine Awards

The following individuals were recognized with college awards during a luncheon preceding the TAMHSC academic convocation Friday, Jan. 20:

  • Award for Research Excellence Senior Faculty – Jeffrey D. Cirillo, Ph.D., professor of microbial and molecular pathogenesis
  • Award for Research Excellence Junior Faculty – Kayla Bayless, Ph.D., assistant professor of molecular and cellular medicine
  • R. Kelly Hester Teaching Award for Basic Science Education – Wei-Jung Chen, Ph.D., associate professor of neuroscience and experimental therapeutics
  • Distinguished Teaching Award for Clinical Education – Santosh Reddy, M.D., assistant professor of internal medicine

— Marketing & Communications