August 2012 Faculty Senate: Latest Updates

August 8, 2012

By Dr. Kenneth Bolin, Speaker

Greetings from the speaker of the Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) Faculty Senate! It’s a busy time for us, as there are several projects in progress.

Dr. Kenneth Bolin

The Senate-sponsored Speaker Series Committee is finalizing a speaker for its spring 2013 event. It also recently finished editing the Appointment of Department Chairs Policy for Executive Committee review per the request of Dr. Rod McCallum, vice president for academic affairs. With Dr. McCallum’s pending retirement, two members – Dr. Karen Landry and Dr. Chuck Wakefield – will represent the Faculty Senate on the search committee for his replacement.

The Faculty Senate elected Dr. John Quarles in the College of Medicine as its new deputy speaker, replacing Dr. Vincent Nathan who moved to San Antonio. We greatly thank Dr. Nathan for all of his dedication and hard work as the deputy speaker, and the last objective he fulfilled was to outline and draft the new process for nominating and electing candidates for the Regents Professor Award. The Senate sent its top two award candidates to TAMHSC President Dr. Nancy W. Dickey in June.

Finally, there are several TAMHSC Faculty Senate representatives on committees that were formed to address the merger of the institution with Texas A&M University.

— Marketing & Communications