skip to Main Content

Health Science Center faculty named Presidential Impact Fellows

presidential impact fellows

Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young and Provost Karan L. Watson have announced a new faculty honor: Presidential Impact Fellows. The new award, which is among the most prestigious ever presented to Texas A&M faculty, was given to four faculty members at the Texas A&M University Health Science Center.

Two of the new Presidential Impact Fellows are from the College of Dentistry: Chunlin Qin, DDS, PhD, and Jian Q. (Jerry) Feng, PhD, both professors in the Department of Biomedical Sciences. Qin’s main research interest is the overall process of tooth and bone formation, especially the roles of the extracellular matrix proteins in the formation and mineralization of dentin (the bulk tissue shaping the contour of a tooth) and bone. Feng researches craniofacial, tooth and bone developmental biology, with a particular interest in teeth root formation.

Farida Sohrabji, PhD, professor in the Department of Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics at the College of Medicine, was also named as a new fellow. One of her main research interests is how medical conditions, especially strokes, affect men and women differently.

Mansoor Khan, RPh, PhD, professor at the Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy and vice dean of the Bryan-College Station campus, focuses on drug storage, compounding and 3D printing of medications.

The inaugural class of Presidential Impact Fellows also includes 20 other faculty members, each of whom will receive an annual stipend of $25,000 for the next three fiscal years to accelerate their teaching, research and service efforts, and will also include the title of Presidential Impact Fellow for life. In addition, each recipient will receive a glass art memento reflecting the synergy of transformational learning, discovery, and impact achieved through Texas A&M’s commitment to creating a better world and will be honored officially at a ceremony on March 21.

Each recipient has been identified by their dean and confirmed by academic leadership. They are considered candidates for continued or new national and international acclaim and will utilize this honor to participate in national dialogue, advance their scholarship and create new partnerships.

“Texas A&M University faculty advance knowledge through transformational learning, discovery, innovation and impact for Texas and the world,” Young said. “Today, we acknowledge a new investment in the excellence of select faculty who through their scholarship, personal commitment and results demonstrate they are rising to meet the challenges of their field and demonstrating impact towards creating a better world. I am proud to name these faculty as the inaugural Presidential Impact Fellows.”

Modified from a release issued by Texas A&M. For more on the award and the inaugural class, visit

Media contact: Dee Dee Grays,, 979.436.0611

Christina Sumners

Communications Coordinator

Back To Top