skip to Main Content

Texas A&M Health faculty rank among top 2 percent scholars worldwide

Twenty-six faculty members appear in Stanford University’s “World’s Top 2% Scientists” list

Several faculty members at the Texas A&M University Health Science Center (Texas A&M Health) rank in the top 2 percent of scientists worldwide, based on a study conducted by Stanford University.

World’s Top 2% Scientists” is a publicly available database of the 100,000 most-cited authors across all scientific fields. It was compiled by researchers at Stanford University using data from Elsevier’s Scopus—a curated abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature—and considers six citation metrics. It includes two different versions: single year performance and career-long performance. The following Texas A&M Health scholars appear in the career-long list, which assesses scientists for the impact of their citations from 1996 until the end of 2020. 

College of Dentistry

College of Medicine

  • Darwin J. Prockop, PhD, professor, Molecular and Cellular Medicine, director, Institute for Regenerative Medicine
  • Nick Pace, PhD, Distinguished Professor, Regents Professor, McMullin Professor of Genetics, Molecular & Cellular Medicine
  • Samba Reddy, PhD, RPh, FAAPS, FAAAS, professor, Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics
  • Israel Liberzon, MD, professor and head, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Ashok K. Shetty, PhD, professor, Molecular and Cellular Medicine, associate director, Institute for Regenerative Medicine
  • David N. McMurray, PhD, Professor Emeritus, Microbial Pathogenesis and Immunology
  • James R. West, PhD, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics
  • Lih Kuo, PhD, Regents Professor, associate department head, Medical Physiology, director, Ophthalmic Vascular Research Program
  • Vytas A. Bankaitis, PhD, Distinguished Professor, Molecular and Cellular Medicine, E.L. Wehner-Welch Foundation Chair in Chemistry
  • David Threadgill, PhD, University Distinguished Professor, Tom and Jean McMullin Chair of Genetics, Molecular and Cellular Medicine, director, Texas A&M Institute for Genome Sciences and Society
  • Farida Sohrabji, PhD, Regents Professor, department head, Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics, director, Women’s Health in Neuroscience Program
  • David C. Zawieja, PhD, Regents Professor, department head, Medical Physiology, executive director, Cardiovascular Research Institute
  • Cynthia J. Meininger, PhD, Professor Emerita, Medical Physiology, director, Division of Vascular Biology, director, Graduate Studies – Temple campus
  • Vernon Tesh, PhD, professor, Microbial Pathogenesis and Immunology, associate vice president for Faculty and Academic Affairs, Texas A&M Health
  • George C.Y. Chiou, PhD, Professor Emeritus, Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics

Rangel College of Pharmacy

  • Mansoor A. Khan, PhD, RPh, vice dean, professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, director, Formulations and Drug Delivery Core Laboratory, Presidential Impact Fellow

School of Public Health

  • Virender K. Sharma, PhD, professor, Environmental and Occupational Health, director, Program on Environmental and Sustainability
  • Marcia G. Ory, PhD, MPH, Regents and Distinguished Professor, Environmental and Occupational Health
  • Joseph Sharkey, PhD, MPH, professor, Health Promotion and Community Health Sciences

 Institute of Biosciences and Technology

  • Roderick H. Dashwood, PhD, FRSB, director, John S. Dunn Chair for Disease Prevention, Texas A&M Institute of Biosciences and Technology Center for Epigenetics & Disease Prevention, professor, College of Medicine Department of Translational Medical Sciences

Media contact:

Share This

Related Posts

Back To Top